Corn Dog Muffins

Corn dog is my ultimate theme park food, then comes popcorn. I used to like corn dogs so much that I would buy frozen versions of them, and always have them ready in my fridge. That was years ago, back in the good ol’ college days.

Now that I know better, I try to limit the amount of corn dogs I consume (if I ever get the chance to). After knowing how much calories these little devils have, I just can’t look at them the same anymore. And I miss them dearly.

That’s until Kristin wrote about her mini corn dog muffins. I was so happy when I read that! And it just so happen that I have cornmeal in the fridge. Bonus!

The recipe is incredibly easy and the result is so good. They even smell exactly like corn dogs. Just ignore the fact that they look like muffins.

I don’t have mini muffin trays, so I just use a regular one. This would mean that my muffin to sausage ratio would be higher, which doesn’t bother me at all. And I use cocktail sausages, which means I do not need to cut them into smaller pieces. I just pop each sausage on the top of the muffin batter, and give them a slight push just so to “embed” them into the muffin.

The muffin tasted almost like cornbread, and the combination of sausage and “cornbread” is so good. They really remind me of corn dogs. I’d happily have these little babies until the next time I get the chance to eat the real thing (not frozen ones).

One thought on “Corn Dog Muffins

Leave a Reply

