Cheese Muffins (Georgian Khachapuri)

This is my first time attempting Georgian Khachapuri. I didn’t even know what a Khachapuri is until Holly wrote about it. I have to admit that I had to “wikipedia” it. They looked and sounded interesting, so I just had to give it a whirl. And of course, Holly’s recipe is my go-to guide.

Naming these cheese muffins might not be exactly accurate. They have more of a bread-ish texture. And taste more like bread than muffins.

Most of the muffins have excess cheese oozing out at the top. Partly due to my pinching-skills (or rather lack of), and partly due to me over-filling them too. I used too much egg in the filling mixture, which resulted in a bit more filling than expected. I didn’t want to waste the cheese and egg mixture, so I just force-filled all of them. The photo below clearly shows the evidence of excess egg in the mixture.

Even with the hiccup, they still taste wonderful. They taste richer than your regular bread, and smells heavenly of cheese and egg. Definitely a great option for breakfast with a cup of tea. I have no idea how close this is to the real thing, which I hope I’d have the chance to taste one in the future.

Have you had the real Khachapuri? Do share your experience.

2 thoughts on “Cheese Muffins (Georgian Khachapuri)

Leave a Reply

