No-Knead Pizza Base

When it comes to pizza, I like my crust to be as thin as possible and the crunchier the better. However, it’s hard to find ready-made thin crust pizza bases here. The ones we have at the supermarket are the super thick type. Sad panda. With this, I’m on a mission. To find an easy to make pizza base. And when I say easy, I mean the less kneading the better. I’m lazy that way.

So when I saw Jim Lahey’s no-knead pizza base recipe, it’s game on! I purposely squeeze pizza in as one of my menu item for the week, just so that I could try the recipe out.

The only catch? You’d have to start one day earlier. This recipe relies on overnight fermentation of the yeast to achieve it’s nice texture and to give it that flavor. But trust me, this pizza base is definitely worth all those waiting.

Here’s a photo of how the dough looks like after 18 hours of fermentation.

The outcome? Perfection. Easy, breezy, bubbly pizza base. The base was crispy, chewy, and tender all at the same time. Kai agrees that this is way better than the frozen pizza base we used to get.

I still can’t believe how easy this is. Armed with this recipe, I don’t think I’d ever buy frozen pizza bases anymore.

11 thoughts on “No-Knead Pizza Base

  1. Darn I dint know if my earlier comment went through. Anyway I was saying that I love thin crust pizza and I am going to try this recipe! I do have a silly question. Do I have to roll out the base or do you press it flat like how they make roti canai ?

    • LOL. The comment went through. 😀 Just a bit late. WordPress has a habit of requiring first-time comment author to be approved. After that, your comments would appear immediately. 🙂 Oh…and see your previous comment for my reply.

  2. Oh hello!! I have yo try this! I love thin crust pizza too but its next to impossible to get the prepared bases. Silly question: do you roll out the base to get it flat or just press it flat like how they do roti canai ? 🙂

    • Welcome welcome. 😉
      I roll the dough out using a rolling pin. Just a regular one, nothing fancy.
      No roti canai action for me (unfortunately). Or else, I might end up with no pizza for dinner. Cause the dough would either come out with uneven thickness or stuck to the ceiling. LOL. 😛
      Let me know how it goes!

  3. I’ve been meaning to try this recipe for a while now. Need to do it one of these days! Glad to know that it’s easy and good 🙂

    • You can actually make it a couple of days ahead. After the initial fermentation, the dough keeps well in the fridge for up to 3 days. So, no need to worry about making it exactly 1 day before. 🙂

Leave a Reply

