Green Tea Cupcakes

After my failed attempt at green tea cake, I was devastated. I love green tea, and was really looking forward to some green tea action. The disaster left me with a broken heart and a jar of green tea powder. So, as not to waste the remaining green tea powder, I set off to another mission and tried Kirbie’s green tea cupcakes instead.

Don’t expect them to taste like real Japanese matcha cake though. It’s not even close. This has a more cupcake-y texture and richer too. Japanese matcha cake has a lighter texture and a refreshing taste. This recipe has its perks though. It’s super easy! No crazy whisking or electric mixer needed. Fast and easy treat. For this, I’m willing to overlook the fact that it does not resemble my favorite Japanese matcha cake.

Okay, so it’s not really that green. I was expecting it to be a bit greener (not crazy neon green though). And the taste of matcha was really mellow too. All these prompted me to think that I might need more matcha powder next time.

As that day was my group-lunch-day, I brought these to my group of human testers (aka the gang). None of them guessed that it was green tea cupcakes. They just say it’s butter cupcakes. Gosh…boys. And they finished the whole batch in less than 10 minutes. Needless to say, they thought it was yummy, just not green tea cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

