Homemade Granola

Granola + milk = yummy breakfast/lunch/dinner. I would have had granola for all three meals if my nutritional-conscience didn’t kick-in.

Now, I never thought that I’d one day make my own granola. If you were to tell me that one year ago, I’d laugh at the statement. Granola seems like such a complicated food. With all the oats, nuts, fruits and seeds in it, it looks mighty hard to make.

This is probably the fastest thing I’ve whipped up using the oven. I can’t believe it’s so easy to make my own granola. For this batch, I used pumpkin seeds, sesame seed, sliced almonds, coconut flakes and raisins. The combo is so amazing. Can’t wait to experiment with other combinations of nuts, seeds and fruits.

After taking the granola out from the oven, and cooled it down, I had a bowl for lunch (with milk). Then sprinkled some on yogurt and apple for afternoon tea. And a handful when I was waiting for Kai to come back for dinner. All on the same day. Call me addicted.

4 thoughts on “Homemade Granola

  1. Pingback: Monthly Favorites: August 2012 « Blushing Sugar

  2. Pingback: Corn Muffins « Blushing Sugar

  3. I’ve attempted making granola bars twice in three weeks. I say “attempted” because they weren’t exactly “bars”. The whole thing just crumbled apart when I tried to cut it. So I stirred it up, baked it a little longer and tada, granola! Not what I wanted, but still yummy! 😀

    • I’ve yet to attempt granola bars. Did you wait for it to cool down completely before cutting? And maybe press it really hard into the pan before baking? I suspect that might help.

      Haha. Good call on “transforming” it to good old granola. Now I’m making this every week to make sure I always have some for breakfast or lunch. 😛

Leave a Reply

